Mr. Wrong

30 06 2017

Nelson DeMille once wrote “Nostalgia is basically the ability to forget the things that sucked.”  I realize that DeMille is not generally recognized among the darlings of American literary geniuses, but damn – I love that line.

And so I found myself engulfed in a sea of nostalgia tonight.

Well, meet me by the river that goes nowhere
Let me lay my sorry trip on you
Won’t you meet me by the river, little darlin’?
I might just let you see my bad tattoo

It all started… Well, I’ll be honest. I don’t remember where it all started because I began writing this a week ago and got too tired (or distracted) to finish.  But I’m pretty sure it started with me looking at my YouTube uploads and getting sucked in to past adventures.  And that got me thinking in all kinds of different ways.

My first video upload to YouTube was 9 years ago, and that is kind of crazy to think about.  Those were the days of flip phones and digital cameras.  There was no uploading on the spot.  The story behind my first video was that I was living in Austin (I had moved there in October of 2007) and my friend JP contacted me to let me know that he had some VIP passes to a free SXSW show and asked if I was interested in going.

Well, sure, I was interested.  I was still in my 30s then, after all. I didn’t know what VIP passes entailed, but I also didn’t care because this was before I got jaded.  And when JP told me that the headlining band was the BoDeans?  I was sold.

(I had already seen them once before when they opened for U2 at the Tarrant County Convention Center in 1987 on the Joshua Tree tour.)

It turns out that VIP passes got us “side stage” seats.  There was a park full of people to watch this free show, but we (my then wife and I) got to avoid that mass of humanity because I knew someone.  Pretty damn fortunate.

Also fortunate was that my wife at the time had a digital camera with excellent video recording capabilities and a removable SD card for an easy transfer to a computer.  And that is where this snippet of “Fadeaway” comes from:

Fun fact:  Not long after that show, we adopted a dog from the Georgetown animal shelter.  And we named him Bodie after the BoDeans.  The shelter said they thought he was 3 years old at that time.  It is now 10 years later and he is still my boy.

So here is the crazy thing… That first video I ever uploaded?  It is my most viewed video and second place isn’t even close.  Some of the disparity between first and second place might be easily explained by upload date (it stands to reason that an earlier upload would have more time to garner more views), but I think content is king here.

So with all that said, here are my top 5 videos uploaded to YouTube based on views.

#5:  The only time my brothers’ band recorded an “official” music video.  I had a friend convert this from VHS to digital format and uploaded it 10 months ago. (52 views)

#4:  “Broom, Broom – Out Go the Lights”.  Filmed (is that the right word?) while living in Round Rock.  I still think this is funny, but maybe you had to be there?  Oh, and thanks to Pat Travers for a kick ass song.  (95 views)

#3:  This was a recent entry from the Live Oak in Fort Worth when pop poppins had a reunion show.  I’m not a big fan of recording songs at concerts that I’m attending, but I made an exception for this one.  (267 views)

#2:  Another SXSW film, this one from 7 years ago.  And, believe it or not, it is again a BoDeans show.  It is also the same song that will be number 1 on this list.  Only this video is not about the band, but about the interpretive dance. (558 views)

#1: BoDeans at SXSW in 2008.  Sure, it is only a 5 minute snippet of the song, but this was 9 years ago.  And I guess it was good enough to garner 8,456 views.  Damn.

So earlier tonight I started thinking about these old videos, totally forgetting how I started this entry a week ago.  I knew I had an idea about my YouTube videos that needed to be finished, but that’s it.  I did not recall that I started this entry with this:

Nelson DeMille once wrote “Nostalgia is basically the ability to forget the things that sucked.”  I realize that DeMille is not generally recognized among the darlings of American literary geniuses, but damn – I love that line.

And tonight I posted on Facebook the following:

Nelson DeMille once wrote “Nostalgia is basically the ability to forget the things that sucked.” And that is where I’m at right now for a variety of reasons. Can’t complain.

I guess I really needed to get this off my chest. Or I need to work on my originality.

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

