Shy (A tale in three small parts)

4 03 2017

It seems like another life (and in a sense, I guess it was) when I used to go watch my brothers’ band (Digbees) play.  I’d mainly go to their Fort Worth shows – places such as The Hop/Aardvark, Greenhouse Cafe, The Crossing, etc. – while passing up their Dallas shows.  That is, unless a Dallas show had them opening for pop poppins.

That actually happened a lot, almost as often as Anorex Cafe (say it fast – it’s kind of clever) opened for Digbees.  pop poppins (yes, they eschewed capitalization) got pretty big in the DF-dub.  They got nice airplay on the local alternative station (the one I wrote about when it went away), and even got some MTV time.  Things were looking up for the lads from Saginaw.

I’m not sure what happened after that, but I’m going to blame the grunge movement.  Both pop poppins and Digbees had great musicians (and songs, of course), but the flavor of the month ended up ruling the day.  As usual.

When I get up
Will she come back to me?
Should I give up
Or will she be a part of history and time?
Shy
Won’t show it
Shy
Don’t care
Shy
He won’t show it
Shy
Don’t even care…

When I was working in Pantego, sometime around 2002-2005 or so, our local all sports station The Ticket was doing a remote radio broadcast from J Gilligan’s in Arlington starting at 3pm.  Those boys didn’t often venture into the 817 area code, let alone a few miles from my work.  So plans were made to attend that day with my co-worker Debra and her P1 husband David.

While we were sitting there nursing our respective beers, I started getting gentle nudges from the two of them.  They were trying to get me to look over my shoulder at something that they found interesting, but they also didn’t want to call a lot of attention to their curiosity.  So of course I was then curious, too.

As casually as I could, I managed a glance behind me.  I knew immediately what had drawn their attention:  a man, leaning against a wall, wearing a full length white dress.

I turned back to my friends and asked “How much do you wanna bet I can go get a hug from that guy?”

Back then, I had been known to do some crazy stuff (nothing dangerous, just silly or frivolous), so I imagine there might have been some trepidation on their part.  But they were also game for my challenge.

I approached the man, he flashed a huge perfect smile, and we embraced without a word being spoken.

What David and Debra did not know was that the man in question was none other than William P Love (Bill Hitri in real life), guitar player and harmonizing vocalist extraordinaire from pop poppins.  And of course I knew him.

I should have bet them money…

When I get up
I know she’ll come down on me
If I grow up
I want to be a yogi, a part of me
Shy
Won’t show it
Shy
Don’t care
Shy
He won’t show it
Shy
Don’t even care…

People say a lot of bad things about Facebook, but it has its place when used wisely.

For example, I became Facebook friends with all four members of the band.  Bill used to interact with me often until his self-imposed silence.  Michael, who is now the drummer for Better Than Ezra, wishes me a happy birthday every single year.  Broose?  He’s in England, I think.  He always was the quiet one, even if he was the front man.

And the bass player Mark, who is also brother to the aforementioned Bill?  Facebook is how I found out that he was the head chef at Billy Bob’s.  (He has since moved on to a different chef post, but that is not germane to this story.)  While he was at Billy Bob’s, he got me on the guest list for a couple of Bob Schneider shows.  We always had good seats.

On one memorable night, he got me and five of my friends in for a Bob show and assigned someone to host us and that guy treated us like royalty.  One of those friends is no longer among us, but that night is filled with great memories for me.  Of course I wrote about it.

Now I get up
I know that she’ll come down on me
Never give up
Until I see a part of her in everything

Now, thanks to Facebook (and Mark, specifically), I have learned that pop poppins is playing a reunion show in Fort Worth in April.  Right now the date is April 8, but this is the third date so far, so I’m not making a definitive announcement yet.  Especially since I have tickets for the Old 97s County Fair that same day. (Lucinda Williams, yo.)

The venue, however, is not in question.  They will be playing at the Live Oak Music Hall & Lounge, and I am keeping an eye on their calendar to see when/if it is set in stone.  Or font.  Whatever.

There are two things that would make this a perfect night for me, the first of which is possible, the second being only a pipe dream.

  1. The date changing to a different weekend so I can keep both commitments
  2. Digbees also getting back together to be the opening act

One can hope…

Shy
Won’t show it
Shy
Don’t care
Shy
He won’t show it
Shy
Don’t even care..
– “Shy”, pop poppins

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

