She’s A Jar

27 05 2014

So there is a local (well, in Plano, about an hour from me) bar that thought it would be funny to put out a sign that read “I like my beer like I like our violence… domestic”. I first heard about this on the radio tonight, and then on a Facebook group I belong to that listens to said radio station.

For the unaware, here is a link to an article about the brouhaha.

To me, this is a no-brainer. You do not make jokes about domestic violence, especially while comparing it to beer. Have we not evolved past that caveman mentality? There are two types of people I feel nothing for: those who prey upon children and men who beat women. (There are probably more than that, but those are numbers 1 and 2.)

And – get this: when I said it was a sick joke, I was called a pussy. So a guy advocating that violence against women is not cool is labeled as a pussy? Thankfully, there are a lot of people – and a lot of tough SOBs – that will take issue with that. My hackles were up, and it takes a shitload to do that.

But, and here is the depressing thing, it seemed there were very few of us in this FB group willing to say that this type of humor is uncool. Hell, maybe I’m uncool for thinking that way, but I’d like to think that there are a lot more things out there worth making fun of than domestic violence.

In other words, just about everybody sucks right now. But that doesn’t mean I’m going to punch anyone. Unless it is a “him”.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 05 2014
Dragnfli

If I had seen that sign in person, I’m afraid I would have raised a ruckus. And it would have been erased before I left, either on my own will or in the back of a cop car.

5 01 2015
2014: You Were There | Goin' To The John

[…] I realize those months of struggling made the rest of the year that much more rewarding.  The domestic violence argument that fractured am online community I was affiliated with.  (For the record, still not funny.  and […]

Leave a Reply

