Pigs (Three Different Ones)

11 11 2012

“Big man, pig man, ha ha – charade you are”

– Pink Floyd

It’s called the Pig In.  Or the Pig-N.  Spelling is really unimportant.

It happens once a year, and I have been hearing about it from my friend Bear for about 4 years.  For various reasons, this was the first time I could actually make it to the event.  All I really knew about it was that a feral pig would be cooked, adult beverages would be consumed, and live music would be performed by various people until the wee hours of the morning.

So that is how I found myself in the Jonestown, TX area on Saturday with some of my most favorite people, along with about 150 others.

Thankfully, Angelique accepted my invitation and the two of us arrived sometime around 3pm on Saturday.  We set up camp and then met the host.  Or we met the host and then set up camp.  Like the spelling of the event, it’s really inconsequential.

Image

Alan, the host of the Pig-whatever, gave me the grand tour of his house.  He is a master carpenter – the guy that Bear learned everything from.  So in a six degrees of separation type thing, I guess I am learning through Alan via Bear.  The best builder I have ever known has been my dad, but we just never had that bonding experience in regards to carpentry.  Fly fishing?  Yes.  Wood working?  No.

I should have taken more pics of the house.  The only photos I ended up getting were of the jam session at the end of the night.  But let me tell you about the house…

It started out as a Santa Fe railcar and evolved from there.  Alan lived in that freighter while building around it using only recycled lumber.  It is now a two story house, with a train car as its starting point, all centered around a tree.  Yes, a tree.

In the middle of the house, a tree stands.  He could not bring himself to cut it down, nor could he bring himself to stop the masterpiece he had in the making.  So Austin.

Anyway, the evening culminated with live music performed in the living room of the house.  Several different bands played, almost all with the 70-something Alan on guitar or harmonica.  (My personal favorite of the night was the cover of Blackfoot’s “Train, Train”.) 

Image

“You gotta stem the evil tide,
And keep it all on the inside.”
– Pink Floyd

After the music ended, we all retired to our separate quarters.  Many of us brought tents to set up on the two acre property while others slept in their cars. 

Bear’s wife repeatedly told me that she had never seen me so happy.  And, yeah, I was happy.  Camping, live music by people who just love to play, and some of the greatest people in the world to share the experience with.

Come to think of it, I’m still happy.

Actions

Information

One response

12 11 2012
Cliff

Awesome. Glad you’re enjoying life.

Leave a Reply

