How Soon Is Now? (Or April?)

23 01 2009

Like the venerated frontman that the title above refers to, I am back.  Thanks to my old friend and musician JP, I am now the owner of a laptop again – so I plan on getting back into the writing habit.

My first entry upon return was going to be my 2008 recap, but that is going to have to wait because I have some exciting news…

I just won tickets on the radio to see Morrissey when he plays at the Bass Hall in Austin on April 12. I went bouncing into the house upon the end of the phone call to tell Dawn the news. She thought, based on my selection as Employee of the Year for my team at work, that I had just been promoted again.

“No, honey – even better! Morrissey! Live!”

All I had to do was be the seventh caller to KGSR while naming any other member of Morrissey’s old band The Smiths. Well, it does not take a genius to come up with the name of the great guitar player Johnny Marr, especially since I was right under my Smiths poster that Coleton bought me last year as I made the call.

Hell, Johnny is the brainchild behind the memorable guitar riff of the song that shares the title of this entry (minus the April reference), the riff that has made me hate the band Soho ever since I heard them rip it off. Johnny now plies his craft for Modest Mouse, purveyors of one of my current favorite songs “Missed the Boat”.

But even he is no Morrissey.

For those who may think they have never heard of him, the NFL has an ad campaign that features one of his songs (though it is not his voice on the commercials). “Everyday is like Sunday”, the ad sings, meaning gridiron, tough hits, touchdowns, and sacks. Of course, they leave out every other lyric, including:

This is the coastal town
That they forgot to close down
Armageddon – come armageddon!
Come, armageddon! come!

Or…

How I dearly wish I was not here
In the seaside town
…that they forgot to bomb
Come, come, come – nuclear bomb

Dark, depressing, depraved genius. Oddly, it always made me feel better when I was down.

So, yeah, it has been a good day for me. And this is just the beginning. I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.

Hello, world. I’ll be seeing more of you soon.

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 01 2009
leemer

I just looked below at the last entry and read where you have “800” properties in your name. Those where the good ole days huh? You will be over 1900 this month- Dawn

24 01 2009
Ed R

Glad to hear you’re kickin ass and takin names, Leemers.
And Happy ALMOST Birthday!!

25 01 2009
Katy

Sooo… uhhhh… birthday party plans?

29 01 2009
Ed R

Happy Birthday Leemer!!

Leave a Reply

