An Obligatory Music Entry

13 04 2008

I’ve pissed a lot of people off during the last week so now I’ve decided to put some final nails in the proverbial coffin by writing about, of all things, music.

I used to avoid this topic because many readers just don’t give a shit. However, I have now reached a point where I don’t care about the folks that stop by here just to see if I’m in jail yet. (The answer? YES. And the internet connection here is the shiznit.)

I have, at best estimate, three readers who actually care about my music opinions: Devin, Ed, and Cliff. This entry is for you guys because I made two mix CDs titled “Life In Austin”. Thirty-three songs that encapsulate life here in the hill country. Some are songs that I heard for the first time after the move, some are songs that I hear regularily on the greatness that is KGSR. The rest are songs that just remind me of Austin for whatever odd reason.

If you want any of the following songs emailed to you, you know how to reach me.

1. Everyday (The Bodeans)
2. Killing The Blues (Robert Plant and Allison Krauss)
3. Please Read The Letter (Robert Plant and Allison Krauss)
4. Snake Farm (Ray Wylie Hubbard)
5. (Nothing But) Flowers (Talking Heads)
6. Gone Gone Gone (Done moved On) (Robert Plant and Allison Krauss)
7. I’m Losing You (John Lennon on vocals, Cheap Trick rocking the instruments)
8. Read My Mind (The Killers)
9. Across The Universe (Robyn Hitchcock and Grant Lee Phillips covering the Beatles)
10. Chasing Cars (Snow Patrol)
11. Diablo Rojo (Rodrigo y Gabriella)
12. Everybody Knows (Ryan Adams)
13. New Shoes (Paolo Nutini)
14. Hot Blood (Lucinda Williams)
15. In Spite Of Ourselves (John Prine w/ Lucinda Williams)
16. Bedspring Kiss (Jellyfish)
17. The Way I Am (Ingrid Michaelson)
18. Girls In Their Summer Clothes (Bruce Springsteen)
19. I Will Follow You Into The Dark (Deathcab For Cutie)
20. 9 Crimes (Damien Rice)
21. Gotta Serve Somebody (Bob Dylan)
22. Back To Black (Amy Winehouse)
23. It’s Alright (Big Head Todd and the Monsters)
24. Hey There Delilah (Plain White T’s)
25. Don’t You Evah (Spoon)
26. Jenny Don’t Be (Hasty (Paolo Nutini)
27. Shut Your Eyes (Snow Patrol)
28. Big Machine (Velvet Revolver)
29. All These Things That I Have Done (The Killers)
30. Smile Like You Mean It (The Killers)
31. Fadeaway (The BoDeans)
32. Life During Wartime (Talking Heads)
33. Road To Nowhere (Talking Heads)

Top that playlist. I triple dog dare you.

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 04 2008
Cliff

I have, at best estimate, three readers who actually care about my music opinions: Devin, Ed, and Cliff.

“Care” is a very strong word. Only joking. Bedspring Kiss!!!! I love that song. Great list. I can’t top that.

14 04 2008
Ed R

Number 7 , please.

31 08 2008
oldmommy

“In Spite of Ourselves” is actually recorded by John Prine and Iris Dement.

Leave a Reply

